top of page

My Experience of White Privilege


My first realization of white privilege while in Mexico is when I went to Xochimilco to ride on the trajineras with some friends. It was a lot of fun, we started off by taking an Uber to the Xochimilco. When we arrived, we found a nice restaurant to eat at and I ate three big enchiladas verde (they have become one of my favorite foods while in Mexico). After we were on the trajineras, we began to frequently use the restrooms because when people drink, they also need to pee. As we were going down the river, Octavio pointed out that there were a lot of trajineras with fresas on them. I figured out that fresas basically translates to snobs. Fresas are known as highly privileged with money, school and opportunities. On one of the bathroom stops, Octavio and I found that the men’s bathrooms were occupied by three girls. When we arrived at the stalls, they began to talk to us and told us to wait until they were finished (in Spanish). Then they began to show off their “superior” abilities by talking in different languages to us. They asked, “Do you speak English?”, “Parlez-vous français?”. Without even thinking I said, “I speak English!” It didn’t register that they were snobs in my mind. Thinking back, I wished that I wouldn’t have said anything because now I realize that they were showing off and by speaking English and French; and I was flashing my privilege too. We talked a little bit more in English and I disclosed that I was from the United States. After I told them where I was from, their opinion of me completely changed. They stopped showing off and were more intrigued in impressing me. They began asking me questions about what I was doing in Mexico and where in the US I was from. We soon ended the conversation with exchanging names and a handshake. Looking back at the situation, I felt like I wasn’t standing in solidarity with Octavio, who was just standing there with nothing to add. I feel like I was as privileged as the fresas were, and I was basking in it. I felt like I was displaying my privilege around like it was nothing. In this situation, I should have embraced more humility.

In my exchange with the fresas, I felt like I should have remained quiet and let the fresas brag. There was nothing I had to prove. I have a privilege in coming from the United States and I am not sure how I feel about this pedestal. I have worked hard for the abilities I have and the knowledge I have but this is a standard I have received as a birthright. I want to blend in more and I have not walked around introducing myself as someone from the United States. I do not introduce myself saying, “Hi, I am Justin and I am from the United States.” because I don’t want this to be something that identifies who I am in Mexico. I fantasize about the day when my Spanish is so good that I don’t need to say that I am extranjero (someone from another country).


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page